Unfocused: 3 steps to changing your focus

If we sat down for coffee today it would probably be my third cup. I would have to apologize because my brain would be going a million miles a minute trying to talk to you while simultaneously making a bullet point list of the seemingly endless tasks to be done in the house. We would also have the children running around like chickens with their heads cut off. I would like to say that it’s just because it’s Saturday and have the energy, but I’m pretty sure it’s because I gave them waffles for breakfast. I was in the middle of doing something so I let my oldest put on the syrup. So it’s all the sugar that’s got them slapping each other and jumping on all my furniture. I would also be distracted by everything running around in my head. All the ways I want to respond to people playing against the way I know I should respond.  Some are not uplifting, that is why they’re only in my head and not out of my mouth. There’s the argument that I am rocking, warring against myself on how I should feel compared to how I actually feel. I’ve probably also been holding my tongue because my feelings are hurt but I can’t share certain things or I will only cause more drama and others feelings to be hurt. It’s hard work to make sure my heart and my brain are where they need to be!  To be focused on building others up and not tearing them down. So many other things to focus on than the one that matters.

That, my dear friends, is why I am so grateful I did not sit down to have coffee with any of you this morning. I spent the entire morning feeling so overwhelmingly stressed. Then I made my children go outside and I turned on worship. Aaahhhh… decompression has begun.

I woke up early this morning and had a brief time with God. For those of you that know me, I am not a morning person.  I can wake up and be cheery, sure, I just don’t want to wake up. I used to be able to sleep in, then the kids woke up and the chaos rained down.  This mama definitely did not get enough Jesus to deal with my children in the light loving voice and manner I know I need to have.

 Step 1:  Step out of your moment.

I lost the focus I was so close to grasping when I read my bible this morning. Everything else seemed to take precedence in the fore front of my mind. To the point where I was so beyond ready for nap time and it was 10:30.  I didn’t even have the intention of changing my focus. I just needed something to be louder than my girls arguing in the back yard. I’m at the point where my response tends to be “work it out!”  At least until that doesn’t work for them.  So I stepped out of the moment of frustration I was in and I turned on worship.

You are my one thing: by Hannah McClure came on my playlist.  I couldn’t help but stop and worship.

“Just to be close to you, just to walk next to you, this is my one thing, you are my one thing”

I realized my one thing was not Jesus this morning. I had, like, 40 things that I was trying to focus on. My brain and my heart have been pulled into so many different directions it was taking the focus off of what really matters, Jesus.

I continued to worship and shift my focus. Praying over my situation. Leaving the sink full of dishes and the floor covered in tiny little crumbs for a little longer, so I could re-focus.  Even my girls came inside to worship a little. I got to show them what matters most this morning and it definitely wasn’t the boxes in the basement, or their bickering.

Focus

Step 2: Shift your thoughts

When my thoughts are so focused on the negative things, the things that need to be done and all the business around me, that is what my life becomes. My reality turns into this stressful thing, where so much needs to be done and there is so little time to actually get any of it done. If I shift my thoughts to the beauty around me, no matter what my house looks like or the tasks that still need to be done today. Shift my thought to what I am grateful for, even if I don’t feel grateful right that second. I can live with less stress. I can turn my totally unfocused and frustrating morning into an enjoyment.  What you focus on becomes your reality, is absolutely true.  The more time you spend thinking about something the more it’s going to control you.

Step 3: Share your shift with someone

I encourage you this morning. In your stress, no matter what it is, your focus is pulled from the one who centers us, so take a moment and stop everything you’re doing, yes even reading this post, and focus on God. Whatever works best for you. For me it’s worship, stopping and praising Him in the middle of the times when I feel overwhelmed. Changing where I choose to focus, because it is definitely our choice. For you it might be reading your bible, or getting away to a quiet place to pray.  we can’t control what’s going on around us, or what people may do or say to us, but I can certainly change where I decide to put my focus. Today, I choose God!

Then share it with a friend.  Talk about the beauty, and your gratitude with at least one person. The more you talk about it the more you will be focused on the beauty and not the stress. The love Christ has for us and not frustrations surrounding us.

If you need someone to talk to, or someone to get advise from, or you would like to share with us, please do not hesitate to email us!

Distortionfreeme@yahoo.com

I would love to hear about how you re-focus on God. I know we can always use some new ways to make sure He is the center. So please leave comments and share with your stressed out friends.

Leave a Reply

